Beginner proven megaguide #KPIs for e-commerce
Are you one of those who log into Google Analytics, browse for a few seconds and then immediately exit the page?
If so, keep in mind that you are missing a variety of knowledge resources that can help you make better decisions about your e-commerce.
The famous expression of Lord Kelvin anticipates what could happen to you:
You cannot improve what you cannot measure. What you do not improve loses its value.
With little effort and after reading this beginner-safe megaguide we assure you that you can calculate the most important KPIs for your online store.
You don’t want your company to lose value?
What are the KPIs of e-commerce?
KPI stands for Key Performance Indicator – ie the indicators we use to measure the performance of an e-commerce.
Thanks to Google Analytics, access to data is very easy. Any online store can see an infinite number of digits in seconds.
Using the KPIs, you can extract from these figures the information that measures the profitability of your campaigns and thus improves your strategic decisions.
1. What are vanity numbers and why shouldn’t we pay too much attention to them?
If you install Google Analysis in your e-commerce you have hundreds of KPIs at your disposal.
It can easily happen that you are distracted by the so-called vanity metrics which are usually a waste of time: visits, organic traffic or social networks (fan followers, etc.).
If you want to improve your e-commerce day by day, you need to know the main KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) . These statistics determine whether you achieve your goals or if you are unsuccessful. These are the values that distinguish e-commerce that evolves from stagnating and never improving.
we understand that if you do this No control over measurements, never know what you are doing right or wrong. And that means loss of customers, time and money. If you don’t want this to happen, just measure what really matters.
2. Differences Between Metrics and KPIs
Without going into too much detail here – the reality is that there is a slight difference between what a metric is and a KPI.
A metric is a raw value e.g. For example, the number of visits or followers that can be easily measured .
A KPI or key performance indicator is calculated by an operation between metrics. For example, the conversion rate is calculated by dividing the number of conversions by the number of visits and expressing it as a percentage.
The same happens with the average value of the shopping cart .
This KPI is calculated using the quotient of the following statistics:
• The number of customers.
Are you clearer about what it’s all about?
Great – then it’s time to check out the KPIs you need to know if you have an Operate e-commerce .
The 9 KPIs you should at least measure in your e-commerce
Below each is explained in detail.
1. Conversion Rate
We will get started right away, because this is the most important of all statistics.
You should get an overview of the percentage of visits that turn your e-commerce into your daily business.
So you can get a general idea: this rate is usually between 1% and 4%, depending on the type of online store.
Competition on the Internet Trade is increasing, and competition with giants such as Amazon can be difficult for general online retailers.
However, most niche stores where large platforms cannot specialize have the highest conversion rates.
This brings us to a classic of conversion optimization (CRO), the balance between traffic and conversion rate.
It is much more important to increase the conversion rate than the number d he visits the website. Remember, it is better to have 10,000 visits with a 4% conversion rate than 25,000 with 1%.
The calculation is very simple. All you need is the number of visits (as specified by Analytics or the tool you use) and the number of sales or conversions.
Conversion Rate = (number of conversions / visits) * 100
2. Average shopping cart value
The average shopping cart value is the KPI that indicates how much a customer spends on average for each purchase in your e-commerce.
Simply divide total sales by the number of transactions, and you get a value that you can use in many ways:
- Cross-selling: Most stores try to increase this recommend related products ( Cross-selling ) or offer free shipping above a certain order value.
- Free Shipping: If you know the average value of the shopping cart in your e-commerce, you can use it to calculate the exact amount for which the free shipping is worth. Imagine the average shopping cart value is $ 5. If you offer free shipping from € 60, it is very likely that many customers will decide to add another product and save 3-5 € in shipping costs.
- Prices for New Products: If you know how many of your customers are spending on average, you will get an indication of the price range of the new products you are integrating.
If you have set up “Enhanced Ecommerce” in Analytics, you will see the amount of your average cart value. If not, you can calculate it as follows:
Average shopping cart value = (total sales / number of purchases)
3. Dropout Rate
If you’ve experienced this, you’ll agree that there are few things more annoying in e-commerce than an abandoned cart.
This means that shoppers have added a product to the shopping cart. and, for whatever reason, stopped shopping halfway through. As we explained in the previous section, the conversion rate is important. Ending the cash register is equally important or even more important because it can hide important information.
A high shopping cart abandonment rate may be due to a technical error or too long a way to complete the purchase that discourages the buyer.
At a glance we can see in Analytics and with the option “Enhanced E-Commerce” where the customer cancels the process. 
Our goal should be to reclaim these abandoned buyers.
If you want to know how to do this, read our article here on how to restore abandoned shopping carts.
Never forget to set goals in Analytics or in the program you use to find out how many people check into the cart and how many Complete the purchase.
If you divide the second number by the first, you will receive the percentage of completed purchases and the percentage of remaining shopping carts without adding to checkout) * 100
4. Acquisition Cost (CPA)
What is the point of investing money in a sale if it is not profitable?
If you don’t know how much it will cost you to get someone to your website, search for a product and continue. At the end of a purchase, you never know if your traffic sources or promotions will pay off.
The KPI of acquisition costs is usually calculated based on cost per lead (CPL) and cost per sale (cost per sale CPS). If you have a blog with subscribers or offer discounts against subscribing to the newsletter via email, it is also important to know how much it costs to generate a lead.
To know if a If e-commerce is profitable, it is enough to compare this metric with the shopping cart average value:
acquisition costs = (total investment in generating customers (SEM, SEO, …) / new customers)
5. Crash Pages
Do you know the weaknesses of your e-commerce?
A chain is only as strong as its weakest link. In our case, the cancellation pages should be strengthened.
These are the pages in your store that many visitors leave because they are not convinced to buy or are immediately deterred.
Analyze the buying process and look for the weak point in the so-called customer journey.
Perhaps product descriptions are not good, or you may not be offering your customers enough options for means of payment. .
The shipping costs can also be shockingly high, as a result of which more and more sales are stopped.
A few simple changes on some of these pages can significantly increase the conversion and decrease the number. of the abandoned shopping carts mean.
You can find this information in the Google Analytics menu under “Custom Behavior”.
Here you can see the URLs that cause a large number of users to cancel, and thus have the opportunity to improve them – for example, through interactive features, related content or other strategies to stay in the store.
6. Organic Buyback Rate
What percentage of your sales are generated by new users?
Here are the URLs through which a large number of users cancel, and thus have the opportunity to improve them – for example, through interactive features, related content or other strategies to encourage them in the store. stay.
Imagine that most of your customers return. You might then consider a subscription to the repeatedly purchased product (the customer receives it regularly without having to visit the website).
Amazon has already implemented this with its “Spar-Abo” program. This offers the possibility to receive regular consumer goods, such as diapers, razors, hygiene products, etc …
This is the new payment option that is offered:
<img alt=” suscripción a productos amazon
If you know the differences between new and old customers, you can get much more clues about give strategy, take a look.
7. Marketing campaign ROI
Probably one of the most common mistakes in e-commerce and online business is to invest in advertisements, but not to measure what happens to that investment.
The KPI for Campaign Return is very easy to calculate: you just need to know how much you’ve invested and how much you’ve earned from the traffic that comes from the campaign.
If you spend $ 100 on 1,000 visits, you have a conversion rate of 2% and your average profit per customer is $ 20, you made a profit of $ 400.
• ROI = (profit – investment) / investment
• ROI = (400-100) / 100 = 3
You receive € 3 for every euro invested.
However, the opposite is also true and a negative ROI means that you lose money with every sale. If your conversion fell by half (1%), the PPC in your niche increased and you made 1,000 visits for € 250, your ROI would be:
• ROI = (200 – 250) / 250 = – 0.2
Don’t want to lose money on every sale? Then keep an eye on the [ROI] of your campaigns.
8. Bounce Rate and Page Views
As you compete for top positions in Google, the focus is on new KPIs.
We have read this blog repeatedly about the importance of user experience in SEO [19459005
Google is increasingly rewarding websites that do users justice, and one of the ways to measure this is the bounce rate and number page views.
Bounce Rate is the percentage of the number of visits that enter our website but are left without a single click.
Not much to conclude that someone who visits a page and leaves after a few seconds without looking at anything … didn’t like it that much.
To decrease the bounce rate and increase the number of page views, the internal search engine is a very good option. 😉 They provide a quick way for visitors to find what they are looking for (and we already know that momentary attention is key in these times).
Die The first seconds of a visitor on the website are important to get their attention and to prevent them from clicking the dreaded “back” button.
Don’t believe us?
Then we suggest the following
Try DooFinder free for 30 days and tell us what you think.
If you select organic traffic as a channel under “Acquisition”, you can see which keywords are driving you visits.
If you have linked Analytics and Search Console, you will see under “Searches”, how often your page was shown in Google search results.
It also provides other important information, the CTR or the percentage of clicks on your results in the SERP, but this is 100% an SEO statistic.
THAT SOLUTION FOR NOT DELIVERED
If you check which keywords generate the most sales, you often see not delivered .
SSL certificates and supposed ‘safe searches’ mean that Analytics does not display this information.
If you look at the table, you will see that of the 7,372 sessions, 7,328 ‘are not provided’ – 99.4% of the total …  So we cannot rely on Google for this.
However, there is now a tool that seems to offer a solution for this: Keyword Hero.
We tested the free version for 5 URLs and that was the result after almost two weeks in e-commerce.
No trace of not provided !
How do you measure these KPIs? If you are a beginner in web analysis we don’t want to scare you.
On the contrary, we encourage you to take the KPIs a bit seriously because it is easier than it seems. The opportunities for improvement that you will discover are more than worth it.
Years ago, when the measurement tools were not very advanced, an Excel spreadsheet was the best way to do basic checking.
A lot of e-commerce still works this way.
The vast majority of webmasters – and this is our recommendation – use analytics. This free Google tool also offers the “enhanced e-commerce” option, which is spectacular.
If this still isn’t enough for you and you need new KPIs that Analytics doesn’t offer, you can create your own events with Google Tag Manager. This is advanced, but it gives you endless measurement options for user behavior.
We recommend at least: don’t be put off by the multitude of these tools and options. Once you have overcome the learning curve in your first contacts with it, start enjoying it.
And if Analytics is still overwhelming, there are a few other options:
- Modules and Plugins: With Prestashop, WordPress or Shopify extensions can be installed to track key metrics.
- Hosting Information: Providers usually provide traffic statistics, downloads, etc. in the server control panel. The downside is that they don’t usually offer transaction data.
Remember all the improvements of Prestahop, Woocommerce, etc. also use analytic data – so it’s worth going straight to the source of information, don’t you think?
Did you like this information about the major KPIs for e-commerce?
Then it is time to put them into practice.
Set up your Analytics account, set some goals, and measure the KPIs of your online store.
Facebook page : THM-Marketing
Instagram : /Mohamed.tazi.official
Twitter : MohamedTazi_
Facebook : /mohammed.tazihnyine
Pinterest : /Mtazi1978
Blog : http://thmmarketing.com/